How Do People Like This Stay In Business, Anyway?

July 18, 2006 psipsina

I just spoke to the florist I thought I was going to use for my wedding.  I was all ready to wrap things up, and I asked for a written copy of the estimate.

I was told they don’t do written estimates.

No other wedding vendor has refused to put an estimate in writing for me.  I said, politely, that I really wanted the estimate, that it protects both of us from misunderstandings.  Then the woman I spoke with said, “Well, we will send you an estimate if you pay the deposit first.”

No way.

I don’t get this – the DJ who didn’t want to meet with us because he was “too busy,” the bakery that treated us like chewing gum stuck to the bottom of our shoes, and now the florist who wants me to, in the words of his receptionist, “trust him.”

And what do all these vendors have in common?  They claim to have been in business for over 20 years.

How?  How?  If they treat their potential customers this way, how does any one of them stay in business?

Entry Filed under: wedding and tagged:

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • July 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Subscribe

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Top Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 6,397 hits
  •  
