Yet Another Wedding Ripoff

July 27, 2006 psipsina

A couple of weeks ago I received a marketing piece from the Boston Globe announcing their new “Celebrations” section.  In the envelope was a very special offer for me, the Bride-to-Be.  (They must’ve got my name from the Knot, like everyone else.)

If I wanted to publish my engagement or wedding announcement in “Celebrations,” I could take advantage of a special $100 discount.

WTF??

The Red-Haired Boy and I looked at each other and exclaimed, almost simultaneously, If the discount is $100, what do you suppose the price is?  We didn’t bother finding out.

Now, I know I live in the Big City now, but … the last two times I took RHB to my hometown, we spent a pleasant few hours with our different relatives looking at scrapbooks and photo albums in which short clippings about family events were carefully preserved.  There were clippings about births, weddings, obituaries, mention of my brothers joining the Air Force and coming home on leave, you name it.  All you have to do to get your wedding announcement in the paper is call up the paper and tell them, photo nice but optional.

Then again, sometimes I feel that my hometown newspaper is scraping the bottom of the barrell, hard, to find enough to fill 8 pages.

Still, charging a couple for a wedding announcement seems wrong to me somehow.  Remember that old saw that a lady’s name should only appear in the paper three times in her life, at birth, marriage, and death?  Well, I guess for the common folks without a lot of dough to shell out, it’s down to twice.

Entry Filed under: wedding and tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • July 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Subscribe

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Top Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 6,402 hits
  •  
