I Feel So Much Safer Now

August 15, 2006 psipsina

Breaking news today:  Exploding Laptop Batteries.

http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/wireStory?id=2313483

I have a Dell laptop.  I haven’t checked yet to see if mine is affected by the recall – I’d have to remove it from the docking station, and I’m feeling lazy.  I’ll get to it today.  But my favorite part of this story was the following bit.

Most of the incidents reported to the CPSC occurred around the home, but transportation-safety officials have become increasingly concerned about the threat of a laptop causing a catastrophic fire aboard a commercial jetliner.

Now let me get this straight – on Thursday morning, the TSA confiscated my shampoo, my conditioner, my lotion, my contact lens solution, most of my makeup (the powders and — miraculously — a tube of lipgloss survived), my toothpaste, my mouthwash, and my liquid soap.  They made me empty my water bottle.  But they allowed me to carry a laptop battery on board?

What were these people thinking?  Supposing the thing exploded and there were no liquids on board to extinguish the flames?

Here’s a photo, courtesy of http://www.timesonline.co.uk.  Is this the sort of thing we want to permit people to bring on aircraft?

Burn Sucker Burn!

Entry Filed under: air travel, dell, laptop, security, technology, travel, tsa

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • August 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Subscribe

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Top Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 6,392 hits
  •  
